Why Is Collecting Unemployment Benefits In Florida So Damn Difficult?

Posted: May 16, 2012 in My Crazy World
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,


One of the concepts that I’m used to as a union electrician is that no matter what job I take the goal is still the same: work yourself out of a job. Unemployment is a given and filing claims after my layoffs is part of my job. Yeah the funds really suck (Florida benefits equal $275 weekly), but in the big picture it’s better than nothing at all. All the bills get paid and allows me to live easier each day as I wait for the next job. For awhile, filing unemployment and claiming benefits was a breeze. I never had much of a problem when claiming. I went online and answered the questions and my money was deposited a couple of days later. No hassles. No problems. Unfortunately things have changed and it’s starting to piss me off.

In the past couple of years claiming my benefits have been met with opposition from the unemployment agency where they would hold back my money by making me fill out questionnaires which also included work searches. I sent it in within the ten day period, but then the agency told me they never received it. That’s bullshit! I had to fight it for a month before they finally paid me when I threatened a possible lawsuit. Another situation happened a year later where they held back my money again for over two months so that they can start a new payable year in between so that they didn’t have to pay me for at least one week. I threatened again and the money arrived a month later only to find out that the check was sent to the wrong address. I told them it never arrived and it took another month for the new check to arrive my current residence. I did have direct deposit, but they didn’t want to utilize it. What the fuck is wrong with that?

Just recently I had to file unemployment once again. However everything has changed. Now just to collect benefits I had to complete an initial skills test as well as complete a weekly job search with five jobs. Ok, the job search is not a problem because all I have to do is call the union hall even though a representative did have a problem with it. Sounds like the unemployment agencies are anti-union to me. The initial skills test is also bullshit. Can someone please tell me what the point of this stupid test is? They say it is to help out in a search for jobs. Does the unemployment agency actually find you employers? I find that hard to believe because no matter how many times I’ve filed I had to find my own work. In my opinion, the Initial Skills Test is nothing more than a useless addition to make you work harder just to gain a pitiful payment. Whatever happened to K.I.S.S. (Keep It Simple Stupid)?

Through the years I’ve realized that unempoyment compensation is not really a benefit. You can barely live on the money to begin with and the unemployment agency is basically on a mission not to pay you. Of course their second mission is to screw you over every chance they get. Filing for unemployment has become a joke as they require you to fill out so much shit so you can get shit in return. Rumors fly with what’s next on the horizon which include drug testing (which you pay for) and volunteering your time one day a week along with trying to find work in between. I understand that you want to weed out the deadbeats but this is really getting out of hand. We need to go back to the old system which was working just fine.

Comments
  1. [...] be as painless as possible. Once again that is not the case as my frustrations continue. I told you before that the unemployment agency’s goal is to not pay [...]

  2. Danielle says:

    Thank you for the post. Good to see I’m not the only one getting screwed over. I am a teacher who was laid off. It’s been 8 weeks and I have not seen a dime and not only that I have not once in the hundreds of phone calls and emails gotten a hold of one person or receive one phone call. The least the could do is call you back. Thank you Rick Scott for screwing over hardworking people, no other company would survive if the worked the way unemployment does. Ahhhhh I am just so frustrated and at the point I feel I need to file a lawsuit just to get the money I deserve.

Leave a Reply

