T.E.C. 3001 Review: Run, Jump, Slide…Wash, Rinse, Repeat

Posted: August 29, 2011 in Now Playing (Video Game Reviews)
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pros:
Full Of Obstacle Course Style Action

Cons:
Hiccups In The Jumping Mechanics
Not Much Replay Value Past Initial Playthrough

In the future, the world will look like the movie Tron and it will run on batteries. Who will run the world of the future…Energizer or Duracell? Maybe that bunny who keeps going and going is the president! OK, maybe I’m getting out of hand on this, but my opening comments sum up the look of T.E.C. 3001 on Xbox Live Indie Games. A game that combines the elements of Tron and I Robot into one game. That’s just the surface. The rest of the game…well let’s talk about that.

T.E.C. 3001, from Phoenix Game Studio, transports us to the world on the future featuring a robot on a mission to collect batteries. Each of the game’s race inspired stages will have you running, jumping, and sliding through various obstacles in order to achieve the goal. At first this concept reminded me of the bonus stages in Sonic the Hedgehog 2. What T.E.C. 3001 really boils down to is that this game is nothing more than a standard reflex tester as you’ll repeat some of the same maneuvers over and over again.

So here’s how it all works. Your robot will basically run on a track collecting batteries and avoiding obstacles with the goal of acquiring a certain amount of batteries and crossing the finish line as quiskly as possible. Again, just like Sonic 2. All of the running is done automatically so your main movements will be from side to side. You’ll then come up to obstacles like short walls that you can jump over, walls you slide under, and panels you can smash through. There’s also moments where the track will end and you must jump to another track. Tracks also include speed and brake pads as well as a speed gate which will have you literally running at warp speed.

There was a time while I was playing T.E.C. 3001 that I felt I was in a big budget Hollywood action movie as I would run, jump and slide through any obstacle that was in my way. Then there was the moments where I would throw my controller down in rage because I would miscalculate a jump or fell into the endless void because I missed a track. T.E.C. 3001 is the type of game that will test your patience because you’ll fail a lot when you get past the early stages. This means expect a lot of trial and error all in the name of progress.

Other than drying my patience at times, T.E.C. 3001 does have some faults. One of these issues is when it comes to jumping. There are some major hiccups in this concept. There are times, especially when I was running at high speed, that I was unable to jump at all. Instead of a routine jump I ended up like a Looney Tunes character smashing into a wall foircing me to start all over again from the beginning of the level. The game does have checkpoints, but they’re pretty stretched out. Another issue I have is with replay value. Once you find a way to finish the game there was not much reason for me to go back. Mainly this was due to the the game’s repetitive nature and frustration of finishing certain levels where I died a lot.

T.E.C. 3001 is not a terrible game, it’s more like a decent game just filled with a ton of repetitiveness which could have some people hitting the delete button after one go around. The jumping hiccups are almost enough to ruin the game, but the sheer sense of speed can help make up for it. Somehow, I can expect an update coming to help fix it. In the end, I suggest downloading the demo first before making the 240 Microsoft Point ($3.00) investment.

A big thank you goes out to Phoenix Game Studio for providing a review code for the game. Thanks again! BH

Leave a Reply

