Jetpack Joyride Review: Sorry Sensei, I Found A New Addiction

Posted: January 27, 2012 in Now Playing (Video Game Reviews)
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pros:
Super Addictive Game

Cons:
You break your high score and the battery life runs out on your iPhone

Review Based On Version 1.2.5

If you thought that Fruit Ninja was addictive, then it’s time for you to check out Jetpack Joyride from Halfbrick. It’s wild, fun, and I can’t believe I’m writing this review instead of playing the game some more. I think you get the point. Sure it’s not slashing fruit, but this simplistic yet highly addictive game might just make Sensei a little bit jealous.

Over the holidays I found this game in the App Store on sale for free! (normal price is 99 cents) Now as you all know I just can’t turn down a free game, especially from Halfbrick, so I gave the game a go. After an hour of playing I became so addicted that I couldn’t stop playing. Even the battery ran out on me in mid-play. It’s that much fun.

The goal of Jetpack Joyride is to survive as long as you can against a variety of obstacles and traps as you scroll through each mission on your jetpack. Along the way you’ll collect coins to use in the store as well as tokens for a slot machine that you can access when you die. While your avoiding obstacles you’ll come across random vehicles including a motorcycle, teleporter, and so much more. There’s even a bird that has cash coming out it’s rear. I definitely got a laugh out of it.

When you die in the game (you’ll be doing a lot of this), and have some tokens available, a slot machine appears. You can choose to cash in the tokens at 50 coins a pop, or take a chance for some valuable prizes including more coins and tokens or cool power-ups for future games. You can also access the store to buy items which are more cosmetic in nature. There are some bonuses that help change the game as well. There’s also plenty of achievements to unlock in Game Center which are mostly easy.

Overall, Jetpack Joyride is a fun game not to pass up on for your iPhone. It’s the most addicting game available in the App Store along with Angry Birds and Fruit Ninja. That by the way is good company believe me. I can’t stress the point any further when I tell you to just download the game right now. Ok, I’m done reviewing this game. Time to beat my high score again.

Leave a Reply

