As I wake up for another day I suddenly get this feeling that I’ve done this before. Each day I’ve been sleeping later and later only to awaken and repeat the same performance as the previous day. No time to myself. Only time to go to work and see the same people and continue doing the same job that I’ve been doing for the last six months. Everyday is starting to feel like a copy of a copy of a copy. Nothing feels as interesting as it used to. I think it’s starting to get to me. I’m stuck in a rut.

For the last six months I’ve been working my ass off on my day job. The only catch is that this job is at night. The night shift. All dark and no daylight. The only light you have is the fluorescent bulbs that shine down on you. Boss started yelling at me for things that aren’t my fault. Must of had his Coca-Cola enema. The only thing on the employees minds are “Is it break yet, or is the shift over?” I’m tired. My body is broken and my muscles are sore. Everyday I pray for a layoff. As I write this I feel like I’ve become the guy who gets up everyday just to “make the donuts.”

How many of you had this feeling before. You wake up and experience the same type of day over and over again. I feel like I’m in the movie Groundhog Day. I wonder what I must do just to make the day change for once in my life. I would think that my one day off after six consecutive twelve hour shifts each week would allow me to recuperate. “Recharge the battery” as they call it. That’s where I would start playing a game or two just to stay on track and keep my skills intact. Lately that hasn’t worked out to well because I still fall asleep for a few hours in between the action. Now I find myself losing lives in bunches in Galaga when I know that I’m so much better.

With all that said, let me assure you that I’m not going to go postal on anyone, or unleash my inner Tyler Durden. No need of an underground fight club or instigate “Project Mayhem” Version 2. Maybe what I need is a long “break.” A time where I can live my life. Enjoy the little things. Maybe it’s time for a vacation. Where shall I go? I hear that the weather is good in places like Amalur, Tamriel, Banoi for some zombie slaying, or even the desert wasteland of the Mojave to New Vegas even if the rads are a little high at times (Note to self: Don’t drink the water). Of course a real life destination sounds much better to me. Maybe a cruise. Rest assured a vacation will truly “recharge the battery.” I don’t think that’s asking much now does it?

Let’s face it, life is short. We can’t go through our lives “making the donuts.” God didn’t put us on this earth to do the same shit and be miserable. What will we accomplish? John Hughes said it best when he wrote Ferris Buehler’s Day Off. “Life moves very fast. If you don’t stop once in a while and look around, you might miss it.” He couldn’t be more right. I’m missing a lot of life even if the money I’m currently making is great. I need out of the rut.

Leave a Reply

