Now before I get into a full rant, let me just state for the record that I’m a big fan of Star Wars since I was a kid.

A couple of weeks ago in a city near my home, a film was re-released once again.


Ok, so I was really excited back in 1999 when this film was released. We all wanted to see the beginning of Anakin Skywalker’s descent to the Darkside to become Darth Vader. Instead what we got was a little child turned hero. Then there was that Jar Jar Binks character. Don’t let me get started on that. I thought Darth Maul was cool except for the part on how he died. Overall, this movie was a big piece of trash. I left the theater disappointed, let down and still wondering if I was watching the real movie or the G-rated version for the kiddies. While I had a dissatisfaction for Episode 1, the next two movies in the prequel trilogy sort of made up for it and were quite enjoyable.

Fast forward to today. I have the whole collection of Star Wars movies from VHS to DVD and recently to Blu-Ray. I’ve even played quite a few of the Star Wars video games and even read a few of the books. Yes, I am a fan. Well one day I’m at the movie theater and I notice a very familiar movie poster. Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace in 3D. Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa! Now it’s in 3D? When did this happen? Last time I checked I don’t remember this movie ever being shot in 3D. Now over the years my hatred over The Phantom Menace subsided a bit making things more bearable so I decided to go watch it in 3D. After I left the theater my hatred returned once again. Not for the movie itself, but for the fact that I saw this movie with shitty 3D.

The big problem I have with the whole “3D” thing when it comes to Star Wars is the fact that this film was never intended for 3D. You can see that when you watch it. The film still feels rather flat. The only part that seemed interesting for the 3D was the podracing and space sequences due to all the CGI. That was it. After that I feel like I was ripped off. The only thing on my mind was that once again I padded George Lucas’ pockets as he rapes another movie except not in the way the so-called “Special Editions” were handled. Part of me was waiting to see when the Ewoks were going to arrive to replace something else. Maybe that will be in the 3D version of Revenge of the Sith where all the Wookies will be replaced with the pint-sized stand-ins.

So tell me what was the whole purpose of all of this to begin with? Sure the whole idea is to get younger generations to see the movie for the first time in the big screen, but why? In an age where we already have big screen high definition televisions along with surround sound I begin to ponder whether the movie theater is still a viable option anymore. Why go out of the way to head to a crowded movie theater and buy overpriced concessions like popcorn, candy and soda when you can watch the same exact movie in the comfort of your own home with your family. Also there is no longer a painful waiting period for the movie to be released on Blu- Ray.

It’s pretty obvious to everyone that we can expect all the movies in the saga getting the 3D treatment. With this in mind I have to say that I love Star Wars, but enough is enough already! Hey George, haven’t you made enough money off your “cash cow?” I honestly feel that movies should be left alone, and not be tampered with by their directors as well as the studios. George, please do us all a favor and stop raping us for more money to see the same movie when people like myself can just watch it at home in high definition, on a comfortable couch and with the option to pause the movie so that I can get another beer out of the fridge.

Leave a Reply

