The ZL1 Chronicles: Is the ZL1’s Juice Worth The Squeeze?

Posted: April 24, 2012 in My Crazy World
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

For months it’s been teasing me. Constant ads on television, radio, and print media. The 2012 Chevy Camaro ZL1. A 6.2 liter supercharged V8 engine that delivers 580 horses of monstrous power tearing up the asphalts of America. It’s the equivalent of the Holy Grail. The must have vehicle of Camaro enthusiasts worldwide. Sure the price tag may top over $60,000, along with local dealerships overcharging past the MSRP due to their greed, but that won’t stop the materialistic masses who cherish that “Need For Speed.” As for me, consider myself one of the masses who craves more power.

Now before I go any further let me set the record straight. Last year, I bought my Camaro. A 2011 Chevy Camaro SS. A V8 dreamcar that roars down roadways with authority. A real head turner as I ride down the city streets. I absolutely love my car. However, the mere thought of wanting the new 2012 Camaro ZL1 has me going crazy. The quest for the grail has officially begun. Decisions have now been addressed. What do I do? Do I trade in my V8 black beauty for an upgrade in horsepower, or do I keep my baby and ignore the perpetual desire?

Last year, I said that after I bought the SS that I would never purchase another car. I really meant it. My how times have changed. Now here I am today pondering over the purchase of…another car. They say that when you buy a new car you get this overwhelming feeling of happiness. In dealership jargon they call this “Ether.” Eventually the ether wears off after a few weeks and what your left with is making payments on a car that maybe you didn’t need. Sure I had the ether, but after it wore off what I had was love. Love for my badass Camaro no matter what the payment was. It’s fast, furious, and fun. If my Camaro was a woman then thus far I’ve shown my loyalty to her. Now just the thought of upgrading to the ZL1 makes me feel like I’m cheating on her. I feel so dirty.

As I pondered the questions, I went forward with the decision on the possibility of purchasing the ZL1. I went online to the Chevy website and entered the required information to show my interest. I even got the value of my trade. Within minutes at least four dealerships responded with their random e-mails introducing themselves and wanting to meet me to talk about the car. In that moment I felt like I was in a pool surrounded by hungry sharks circling their prey seeing fresh blood. The phone calls then followed the very next day with hungry salesmen wanting that big pay day. You can sense the desperation in their eager voices for that commission so that they can spend another day feasting themselves on more pizza and beer. One went as far to say that “he wants to be the first to sell one.” Maybe someone needs to tell him to slow his damn role. I’m not that desperate. At least not yet.

With all the thoughts surrounding me all I can think about is what’s better. Trade or trick out my ride? That is the burning question. For now the adventure has only begun. Next stop is the dealership to see the hungry salespeople up close and personal and decipher whether the “juice is really worth the squeeze.” I might also want to bring a harpoon or two just to keep the sharks at bay or else things could really get ugly.

More on my quest for the ZL1 coming soon.

Leave a Reply

