The ZL1 Chronicles: The Quest Continues

Posted: April 26, 2012 in My Crazy World
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With the dealerships lining up for my business through constant e-mails and phone messages it was now time to take the quest for the Chevy Camaro ZL1 to the next level. It’s time to shop around. While I’m stoked about the new ride, I kept my expectations rather low, because I’m sure that disappointument was bound to be in the air. That and I’m still debating over making the big purchase or sticking with my pride and joy, but we all know that there’s nothing wrong with just looking. Right?

Well I made my first stop at Champion Chevrolet in Athens, AL. I parked in the lot and immediately wished I just got in the car and left. The salesman was not very encouraging. That’s weird because at any dealership the shark usually circles it’s prey right away. Not this guy. He seemed a little intimidated by me. Maybe he was looking for someone else. The shitty problem is that I’m the only potential customer in the entire lot. Seriously, I’m not kidding. That clearly is a warning sign for exit stage left. However, I stuck to my guns, made the introduction, and told him my intentions on buying the ZL1. Sadly this salesman was a little unsure of himself and was at a loss for words. Seriously, what is wrong with this guy?

This salesman probably forgot his pitch. Maybe it’s because he’s been in the sun a little too long. Eventually I was able to read through his babble about how he doesn’t actually have the car. Sound like usual dealership nonsense just to get you in the door. This guy had no information on the car as well as not knowing much about it either other than it’s a badass ride. He did ask about mine which surprisingly he knew it was a 2011 SS. I wonder what gave that away?

All bullshit aside I moved the relatively brief conversation from buying to working on my current car. Surprising this was really simple. You would think the salesman should be controlling the conversation to the buy. Isn’t that what these monkeys are taught to do? He lead me to the parts department where my interest was buying some new wheels. I wanted black rims to make my car, because I loved the way they look. It was at this moment where I would go into a state of shock. The parts department are able to get the black rims. However, these rims are 21 inches. My current rims are 20 inches. This means I must also change the tires. So I asked him how much this would set be back. The total? $7,200! Holy shit! Are you kidding me! All I want is new black rims! There’s no way for it to be that much money. Is it? That sounds line a ripoff. I never felt that ripped off since last year when I was considering buying a 2013 Ford Mustang GT only to find out that the dealership wanted to charge me over 19.9 percent interest. No really I’m buying a car not a credit card.

At this point I had it. I thanked the guy for his time and left the building unhappy. I never left a place so pissed off in my life. Now in a tailspin, I head back to the hotel and contemplate what just happened. What do I do now? Well all I tell you is that this search is not over yet. Not by a long shot. I still have plenty of tricks up my sleeve and that this recent unfortunate event will not happen again.

The quest for the ZL1 continues another day.

Comments
  1. Katie_Lucille says:

    If you need further assistance on your quest, please don’t hesitate to contact me anytime! I’m sorry to hear about your recent frustrations while you were searching for rims, and thank you for sharing your experience. General Motors values your feedback!

    Best,

    Katie, GM Customer Service

Leave a Reply

