Now Playing: Toy Soldiers: Cold War Evil Empire and Napalm DLC

Posted: April 29, 2012 in Now Playing (Video Game Reviews)
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

After spending the past few months playing as the Americans it was time for me to experience the fight as the enemy. Finally, after all these months Signal Studios releases some DLC for their hit game Toy Soldiers: Cold War. Sure it’s been a long time and I know that a few of you out there have probably forgotten about the game, but these two pricey DLC packs might make you rejoin the fight. Of course with all the ’80s nostalgia packed in I never really left.

The Evil Empire and Napalm DLC packs expand upon the original game by allowing me to play as the USSR in a few brand new missions, some new maps for survival mode, and some new minigames to play. Also added to the survival mode is two brand new game types including Trauma which adds damage to your toybox when a new emplacement is added, and Commando which brings in your special Commando soldier for exclusive battle against a slew of enemies.


My personal favorites with these packs include the Commando mode in survival because playing the game like Rambo or Red Scorpion is a lot of fun. Sure the lines like “Don’t tread on me” and the Rambo yells all repeat quite often to the point of annoyance, but I really didn’t care to much as I used machine gun and RPG to destroy waves of enemies with ease. I also enjoyed the Whack-a-Mole minigame called Pop-a-Pig which puts a funny spin on an arcade classic. Who needs a hammer when I can just shoot those capitalist pigs!

I know it’s a little pricey for arcade DLC, but I felt that the Evil Empire and Napalm packs were highly worth it. Plenty of fun has been had by me so far and hours upon hours more is expected in the weeks and months ahead. For those of you have Toy Soldiers: Cold War then I suggest you download the DLC. We’ve only been waiting forever for it so why not buy it.


Developer: Signal Studios
Publisher: Microsoft
Platform: Xbox Live Arcade
Price: 1200 Microsoft Points ($15)

Leave a Reply

