Marvel vs Capcom 2. Clearly one of the greatest fighting games of all time. It’s also one of my all time favorites. Street Fighter, superheroes, villains, as well as other Capcom characters together for one hell of a fight. Honestly, I can’t get enough of this game. I play it to death on Xbox Live, but now I can take the game on the go with my iPad. The question is whether the touchscreen controls would really work for a game of this caliber. Well that is sort of a mixed bag.

Capcom decided to not make any major changes in the game where graphics are concerned. Considering the fact that most other games have received a HD remix, Marvel vs Capcom 2 is just one of those games that should be untouched. I think that the pixelated blockiness is alright even if it shows the game’s age rather significantly. However, there are moments of noticeable slowdown especially when there are more characters and action on the screen.

My only concern with this version has to do with the controls themselves. I questioned if the touchscreen controls can keep up with all the intense high flying action that this game delivers. Well unfortunately this is where things get a little complicated. In other words your either going to love it or hate it. I chose to go with a six button control scheme with your punches, kicks, and assists. Some of the moves were a bitch to pull off in the beginning, but I was able to adjust myself later. I’m still having trouble with the tag ins and a few super moves, but with time I should be alright.

Marvel vs Capcom 2 was tough to resist for the $2.99 asking price (special price during The Avengers launch weekend), but in the overall picture I still found it fun to play even if the controls make you scream in agony. Just give it some time, along with an update or two, and things will be just fine. Definitely fun for the fans and fighting game enthusiasts.

Publisher: Capcom
Platform: iPad & iPhone
Version: 1.0
Players: 1-2
Price: $4.99

Leave a Reply

