The ZL1 Chronicles: Maybe Hope Still Exists

Posted: May 1, 2012 in My Crazy World
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On the last episode said that my interest in the 2012 Chevy Camaro ZL1 has started to dwindle. Of course at the end the words “or is it” was then added because it seems that all hope has not faded just yet. At the time of the posting five brand new dealers have jumped into the mix. Four from my home in Central Florida and one from Atlanta, Georgia. Could the ZL1 still be in sight for me? Well it was time to find out.

One of my original goals was to come home in the new ZL1 after I completed my work on the nuke outage at Browns Ferry here in Northern Alabama. For weeks the mere thought of obtaining what I now call “Godzilla” felt like it was in reach. Unfortunately dealer after dealer fell off the map as each filled me with false hopes and promises. One even called under the category of absolute stupidity. Even after all the torture I endured I still had love for my SS. I really don’t want to part with the car, but the ZL1 is really enticing and hard to resist.

While the Florida dealerships are awaiting my return from Alabama for a visit I decided to take up on Rick Hendrick Chevrolet in Duluth, Georgia just east of Atlanta. Their Internet salesman got in touch with me by phone to talk about a possible purchase. He even told me that there are three ZL1s on their way to the dealership this week. To me that sounds great. My hope is somewhat restored. However, I don’t want to go “all in” just yet because who knows if this guy is full of shit. I don’t want to waste a four hour trip to Atlanta for disappointment. So now I wait for an answer and see if the trip will possibly be worth it.

As I write this I once again go through the painstaking process of waiting. Waiting for the answers that I desperately want. Do I buy now, or wait until the 2013 models when acquiring what I want will be just a bit simpler. I guess for now I can just drool over some new photos of other people’s ZL1s just to ease the pain.

Leave a Reply

