All My Bags Are Packed, And I’m Ready To Go

Posted: May 11, 2012 in My Crazy World
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s finally here. The layoff checks have arrived and now it’s time to head home. It feels like I’ve been here forever. I was only expecting to work three weeks as a traveler here at Brown’s Ferry Nuclear plant. What I got as almost seven weeks. All that extra money sure does feel good so I’m not going to bitch about staying longer than I expected. However, I’m really excited to make the trip home.

Now before anyone starts saying that it’s bad to get laid off let me explain. You see, as a union electrician getting laid off is more like graduation day. Congratulations, you made it! Here’s your prize…two checks and unemployment compensation as you await your next job. Basically, every job I take I work myself out of one. It all ends up as a circle repeating itself over and over and over again. sure it was rough in the beginning, but now I’m actually quite used to the endless merry-go-round.

So what do I do now? Well, I would have to say that it’s time to kick back and relax. It’s almost summertime. Summer movies, the beach, women in bikinis, and getting my new 2013 Camaro ZL1 to cruise town in. Most of all I plan to spend some time with family and friends. I’m sure the kids will love the fact that I’ll glow in the dark as a result from working all these nukes in the last couple of years which will provide hours of fun as well a way to never get lost in the woods in the darkest night. Ok, I’m just kidding. Nobody glows in the dark from working a nuclear plant…right?

As I leave Browns Ferry and move on to my next job at St. Lucie Nuclear Plant in a couple of months I take with me the knowledge of continuing nuclear industry experience. I’m actually quite comfortable working in a nuclear environment. Working in a contaminated area wearing a “duck suit” is actually not that bad, although it does get pretty hot wearing all those layers. Sure at first it’s a little scary as you hope not to get any on you, but after awhile it’s a mere afterthought because the chances of that happening are very slim. I’m always “clean” when I pass the scanners and leave the area. Also my industrial working background knowledge has increased due to working with more “experienced” journeymen. They really like teaching us younger guys even if they now consider us “spoiled.” Seriously speaking, working at a nuclear plant is more of a slower pace than most other jobs. There were times where I spent an entire day doing absolutely nothing and getting paid for it. Easy money! Take that 9-5ers! Sadly, If I ever go back to a commercial job down the road I’m sure that I’ll be in for a reality check. i may even get the message of “Go back to your nukes.” Ok, enough shop talk for now.

As I leave here I say “So long Sweet Home Alabama and hello Central Florida!” After a twelve hour plus road trip I can’t wait to sleep in my own bed and hang out with people I know with a few games, cold beer, and some fun times under the sun. Vacation here I come, and you’ve never looked better. Now to deal with those unemployment office people about my benefits.

Leave a Reply

