Originally released back in 1983, Dragon’s Lair has been ported to every video game console, PC, and multimedia platform known to man. Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the last 30 years then you should know what this game is. The story of Dirk the Daring who’s out to save the lovely princess Daphne from the evil dragon Singe. Despite it’s ancient age (in gaming years) Dragon’s Lair still has that nostalgic fever that fans, including myself, crave. I’ve always wanted to play Dragon’s Lair since seeing the attract screen play over and over in the arcades as a kid, but I didn’t want to spend one dollar a credit just to have my ass handed to me because I didn’t know what to do. Over the years I got over that fear and I’ve played the game having lots of fun I the process. Now it’s arrived on Xbox Live Arcade and I couldn’t wait to go on the nostalgic adventure once again.

Dragon’s Lair on Xbox Live Arcade can be played in two ways. Obviously one way is to use the controller. The other is the way is how the game is advertised…with Kinect. Now I had my reservations on seeing how Dragon’s Lair would hold up by utilizing the Kinect. So I played the games using both peripherals. Of course, there’s also the option of watching the whole ten minutes of animation as a movie, but why would I want to do that? I paid for the game to interact with it and not just watch it.


Now if I had to choose what way to play Dragon’s Lair on the Xbox 360 I would have to go with the controller. I found it more comfortable for me to use as I would move through each quick time event with the D-pad for movements and the A button for the sword. While I may have chosen the controller let me assure you that the Kinect is no slouch. Playing this game with Kinect sure is a workout as I put up a sweat from jumping around and flailing my arm. There is also a few moments where the Kinect camera would take pictures of my actions. Both ways are fun, but I have to mention that the game’s achievements really cater more towards using the controller. Speaking of achievements, you might notice that they mostly center around you dying which is something you’ll be doing a lot of in this game unless your really good at it in Hard mode.

The game may be too old to most, but Dragon’s Lair is a treasure that everyone will love. It definitely fits as a break between shooters, or for those who use the Kinect for other reasons like dancing and exercise programs. I had a lot of fun as I felt that nostalgic rush, and plan to play it again and again just to beat my high score. Don Bluth’s cartoony adventure is a classic, and it’s safe to assume that more could possibly be on the way with Dragon’s Lair 2: Time Warp and Space Ace. Alright, enough talking…my quest awaits.

Publisher: Digital Leisure
Platform: Xbox Live Arcade
Players: 1-2
Price: 800 Microsoft Points ($10.00)

Comments
  1. […] For my original review of Dragon’s Lair on Xbox Live Arcade click HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

