I may have tons of shooters, but it’s the tactical shooters that bring out the best in me. Sadly, some people consider Call of Duty a great tactical shooter. I’m sorry, but Call of Duty is a game for little kids who would have no skills and rely on killstreaks that they cheated for just to post some shitty YouTube video that nobody cares about. Others think tactical is “camping out” and sniping from a distance. Again no skills. This is where the Tom Clancy games come in. Games like Ghost Recon and Rainbow Six are more squad-based tactical shooters where you must work as a team in order to survive…and maybe even save the world in the process.

The latest game in the series entitled Future Soldier takes the lessons learned from the Advanced Warfighter games and makes a complete shooter experience which is one of the best that I’ve ever played. The story may be a bit lacking, but I didn’t care because this wasn’t the reason why I bought the game. It was about the overall gameplay and it’s rock solid. Plenty of strategy, guns, action, and shit blowing up all around me and that’s just the main campaign which is only a small fraction of the overall game. It’s almost like a big budget Hollywood movie. What really impressed me is the fact that as you play the objectives change up making you think twice about how to accomplish the mission. The game is not a straight up shooter like other games in the market. Sometimes I had to rely on stealth, using items like sensors and drones, or sync shooting as a team to rid myself of multiple targets to avoid detection. By the way, the active camo is also kick ass.

When I first popped in the game disc, I went right to the multiplayer because I wanted to see how well it played since I didn’t get a chance to try out the beta. I started with Guerrilla which was the equivalent of Gears of War’s Horde mode. First I made my way to the HQ while taking out a few enemies. Then I had to defend it along with receiving new equipment in between waves. Learning where to place items like claymores and sensors made things a little easier in figuring out enemy positions while defending my location. I also played some team-based competitive multiplayer (specifically Conflict) where I had to complete objectives while taking out the opposing team in the process. Once again I used my items to my advantage while gaining kills, points, and even an achievement or two. Strategy plays a huge role in this game which clearly trumps camping and lucky grenades found in Call of Duty. I will make one suggestion out there to all players: Use your headsets and communicate with your teammates or else your going to lose…a lot.

Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a blast to play. While it’s still early I can say that I enjoy it just as much as my other shooters including Halo and Gears of War. It looks great, sounds great, and plays great as well. The strategic elements help aid in the gameplay and the multiplayer is awesome. Of course there’s the Kinect features with the Gunsmith option which is pretty cool when I work on upgrades for my weapons as well as other customizations. It’s safe to assume that I found another keeper in my shooter collection. With Future Soldier turning out this good it makes me wonder how the next Rainbow Six game next year is going to be.

Publisher: Ubisoft
Platform: Xbox 360
Players: 1-12 (online)
Price: $59.99

Comments
  1. […] For my original review of Ghost Recon Future Soldier click HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

