In just one week, the gaming world will descend on Los Angeles for the 2012 edition of the Electronic Entertainment Expo otherwise known as E3. It’s a week filled with big announcements, parties, and tons of games to play.  Back in 2009, I attended the E3 Expo and had one heck of a good time as I got the opportunity to meet and play some games with some of the big names of the industry. I also remember consuming a ton of alcoholic beverages as well. Still it was a great time that I hope to do again in the future.

Before the big show starts you get the keynote press conferences. Every year I check out the Microsoft press event to see what I can look forward to on the Xbox 360 for the rest of the year and beyond. Some things are rather predictable, but then there are times where they’ll throw in a surprise or two just to keep you on your toes and excited. However, don’t expect any news on a new Xbox console at least until next year. Well it’s time to make my predictions on what I can expect from Microsoft at E3 2012.

Right off the bat I’ll expect a demo of the upcoming Call of Duty: Black Ops 2. For the past few years it’s been tradition for Microsoft to show off the game especially due to the fact that they have the exclusive rights to have the game’s DLC first before anyone else. Now it’s no surprise that I really have no interest in this franchise anymore, but I have to admit that I did like Treyarch’s previous Black Ops game especially in the single player and zombies mode. Call me slightly interested on this one, because if the campaign looks pretty good and zombies mode returns I might possibly buy this game.

Next up I have 343 Studios showing off the highly anticipated Halo 4. Last year at this time we got a teaser trailer letting us all know that Master Chief is back. I expect a demo of the campaign just to wet the appetite along with showing us some new features. I’m a big fan of the series even though the last two games in terms of the plot was a little far fetched. The multiplayer however is awesome and very addictive. I’m definitely looking forward to this game.

Next up I have Forza Horizon. This is a game that I don’t know much about. All I’ve seen was a teaser trailer with a few exotic cars (including the new Dodge Viper) and a crowd of people partying. So what kind of racing game is this? Arcade or simulation? Hopefully there is an answer on this one.

In the past few years Twisted Pixel has put out some amazing games for both XBLA and for Kinect including the Splosion Man games and The Gunstringer. Microsoft responded by acquiring the development studio. Just before PAX East last month Twisted Pixel hinted at a new game to be announced at E3. I would assume to hear what’s next from the studio during the press conference.

As usual we could expect plenty of Kinect announcements along with a demo or two hopefully free of fist bumping and terrible acting. I’m sure they’ll show  Fable: The Journey and Harry Potter Kinect, but what I really hope to see is Crimson Dragon. This game was worked on by some of the development team behind the Panzer Dragoon series. I know that most people hate the motion controlled add on, but keep in mind that Microsoft also wants to reach out to the casual players.

Finally, we can expect plenty of talk centered around the Xbox Live Dashboard as well as integration with Kinect. I also expect Microsoft to announce some new apps to make the Xbox 360 more than just a gaming console. Honestly, apps don’t concern me as much, because the only apps I really use is Netflix, UFC, and ESPN. I don’t see the need for anything else.

Other Games that may make an appearance include:

Assassin’s Creed 3
Rainbow Six: Patriots
Tomb Raider
Bioshock Infinite
Aliens: Colonial Marines
Rock Band Blitz
Deadlight
Avatar Motocross Madness

Well that’s my predictions for Microsoft’s E3 Press Conference. The spectacular kicks off E3 on Monday, June 4 at 1pm ET/ 10am PT. I’ll be watching this all unfold on Xbox Live, and see if my predictions hold water.

Oh wait…I just remembered. At the end of the show, Microsoft always surprises us with an unannounced game. It’s always a game from a popular franchise. Last year it was Halo 4. This year I have two possible predictions. One would be Left 4 Dead 3, but my money is on a prequel to Gears of War. Pendulum Wars maybe?

Leave a Reply

