On Monday, the extravaganza begins. The madness known as E3 gets underway. A week filled with games, press conferences, parties, getting together with old friends from miles away, and also meeting new friends for the first time. It’s also an opportunity to get up close and personal with the developers making the games that you love. It’s a week filled with fun and excitement that I’ll never forget.

Back in 2009, I had the chance to attend the big conference while I was with SFX-360 (now Digitalnoob) and it became the highlight of my journalistic career. It’s been a dream for me to attend the big show, and now I can say that I was there. All the big announcements, demos, surprises, parties, and tons of alcohol made for a week of unforgettable entertainment with a great group of friends.

After first arriving in Los Angeles on a Monday nignt from a long flight from Fort Lauderdale the first thing I thought about was “where’s the bar?” Trust me, after a long flight a cold beer feels so much better. LA is a huge city filled with so many bars both hot spots as well as hole in the wall dives. You can’t really walk around so getting a cab was the next best thing, and that’s not that easy to do. By the time you get to a bar you see that your not the only E3 media mogul in attendance. Plenty of other media members are around having drinks and are ready to welcome you. No shop talk this night. Just partying.

When the show finally opened the next day the excitement really kicked in. Being that it was my first E3 I was overwhelmed. You could get lost fast. Two huge buildings filled with publishers and developers who’ve spent tons of cash to showcase their games that would control the sales for the rest of the year and beyond. Posters, billboards, big screens. E3 is a PR reps worst nightmare due to the fact that it could become “make it or break it” for any new game that doesn’t have the name of Call of Duty, Halo, or Mario. Popular franchises sure had it easy as the media would flock to those locations leaving others in the dust.

So what did I do in this gamer’s paradise? Well considering the fact that I felt like a kid in a candy store I went with the goal of seeing everything. Booth babes attract your attention so that you approach their booth and check out what they had to offer, and the games too. E3 is such a huge show that distraction was everywhere. Yes, I had appointments to fill and developers to interview, but you just can’t help yourself when something cool happens like when a popular celebrity walks on by and you want to get a photo op, or maybe when I was in line for that free redeem code for Battlefield 1943 that EA as giving away at the top of each hour. There’s always something going on and it was important that I was a part of it.

With every booth I visited, I had my business cards going out everywhere. Getting my name out there was important so that the PR reps knew the person who was covering their company’s games. I wanted to establish myself as a member of the media, and not use is as a way to try and get a free handout like most others did. Don’t get me wrong, I did get some free review copies before their eventual release date for me to review, but I never asked them at the show. That was later through constant e-mails and promotion. There’s a good tip for all you young writers out there.

Along with the show itself, there was the parties. When the convention center closed the real action was taking place at every hot spot in the city. Various gaming studios threw lavish parties for all to see. Sometimes getting the invite for the bigger events was the only challenge. gaming may have been the focus of why I was here, but it was the parties that brought out the real fun. I was in LA so it was time for me to enjoy the moment because I won’t get to do this all the time. There was this one party I remember that I attended that was promoting Microsoft Windows 7. Then again the only thing I remembered was getting really drunk and then there was something about a rat in the middle of the street that everyone thought as dead and then suddenly came to life.

After three days and nights of endless work, press conferences, and partying (yes, you really don’t have time for sleeping) it was time to head home. Memories were made, new friends were found, tons of PR contacts were placed in my database, and back to reality was where I was heading. Back to the grind of the day job just wondering when you’ll return back to the madness. For three years I haven’t been able to come back to LA due to work, but I do have this feeling that a return visit may soon be on the horizon. E3 2013? You’ll just have to wait and find out.

Leave a Reply

