GAME STATUS: Ashley has been rescued. Los Illuminados has been eliminated.
ACHIEVEMENTS EARNED: 9 out of 12 (600 Gamerscore)

For my original review on Resident Evil 4 HD click HERE

Who would’ve thought that going on a mission to rescue the President’s daughter could be this involving. Crazed non-zombies, giant powerful beasts, parasites, bioterrorism, a somewhat religious cult, and plenty of shopkeepers who always seem to show up in key moments. Yup, just another day on the job for Leon S. Kennedy.

My mission in Europe was filled with plenty of action and suspense as Resident Evil 4 kept my focus on everything that was going on. Non-zombies and other creatures would appear anywhere where I would least expect them. I sometimes got a chill up my spine when you hear the chanting in the castle and find an enemy right behind me ready to strike. Eventually I did a quick 180 and delivered a hole to the chest with my shotgun knocking him back to his death. Of course I also enjoyed heads explode from non-zombies and even watching bosses think that they’ll get the best of me only to get a warhead from a rocket launcher up their asses. $30,000 well worth it. Thanks shopkeeper!

As for Ashley, well let’s just say that she’s no Sheva from Resident Evil 5. Ashley was more of a babysitting assignment after her rescue. Sheva held her own, and at times had a pretty good shot as well. That’s saying a lot. Although, Ashley did help out on a few puzzles, and opened a door or two in the castle until she almost got carried away by those evil Los Illuminados bastards. I then responded by putting a bullet in their head. Maybe I wouldn’t of had to do all of that if I was being a good babysitter. Then again I love the feeling of a good headshot. It’s so gratifying. Plus it puts a big smile on my face when I see their head’s explode in a bloody mess.

Ok, so Resident Evil 4 was a little bit out of character because it didn’t have any zombies, but that never really bothered me one bit. The creepy atmosphere was well done even if everything was not on HD, and the over the shoulder gameplay was excellent. My only gripe would be all the quick time events. On a personal note, Salazar may have been an annoying little person at times, but he clearly wasn’t as annoying as Alfred Ashford in Resident Evil Code: Veronica.

THE WORLD IS SOMEWHAT SAFE ONCE AGAIN, SO WHAT’S MY NEXT ASSIGNMENT?

Second quest? Hell yeah! Separate ways quests for Leon Kennedy and Ada Wong? Absolutely! The Mercenaries? I can’t turn that down. There’s so much to do now that everything is unlocked. In my opinion Resident Evil 4 is one of the best games in the long running series so it’s safe to assume that this game is a keeper on my Xbox 360 hard drive. Enough chat. Time to go save the President’s daughter once again, but this time with upgraded weapons. Now where’s that shopkeeper?

Developer: Capcom
Platform: Xbox 360
Players: 1
Price: $19.99

Leave a Reply

