GAME STATUS: U.S.S. and Spec Ops Missions Completed
ACHIEVEMENTS EARNED: 40 out of 70 (730 Gamerscore)

For my original review on Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City click HERE.

It’s been a difficult road for me when it comes to this game.  Ever since it’s release a few months ago, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City has been met with a lot of negativity. A year’s worth of hype all down the drain due to a slew of bad press. In my review I gave the game, from Capcom and Slant Six Games more of a positive spin saying that it’s really not as bad as you might think… if you play the game in multiplayer with friends that is. Now here I am today with the game completed (along with the Spec Ops DLC) and my feelings about the game are still the same…somewhat.

Returning to the city made famous in Resident Evil’s 2 and 3 had fans like myself excited. Zombies, B.O.W.s, Tyrants, the Umbrella Corporation along the cover up that followed, and the return of popular characters including Leon S. Kennedy, Jill Valentine, Claire Redfield, and even Hunk. Sure we got all of what I just mentioned, but for some reason the game didn’t really live up to our lofty expectations.

While trudging my way through each painstaking level, I felt like this game was taking me on a roller coaster ride. At times I really enjoyed playing the game and wanted to see what would happen next. Then I would hit a low point only to get risen up once again later on. Then I get stuck and die about five or six times and then wonder why the fuck I’m still playing this game. Unfortunately, there were more lows then highs. That about sums up the experience of me playing Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City.

Here’s a few other things to ponder. Since when do zombies hide under a table and then show up when called upon? Why are all enemies such bullet sponges? I follow that question up with why are my weapons so weak? Why is a game meant for killing zombies and other B.O.W.s really boil down to a group of humans battling a group of other humans then slap the “Resident Evil” name on it? It really didn’t make much sense to me, and now I see why mostly everyone hated this game.

SHOULD I CONTINUE TO PROCEED WITH OPERATION RACCOON CITY?

Well I can’t say that I want to play through the campaign ever again. Playing Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City in co-op and competitive multiplayer however with friends was fun. There was a patch released recently to fix the bugs making the game a bit more tolerable than it was before, but it wasn’t enough to make me want to walk the streets of Raccoon City and shoot through hordes of bullet sponged enemies a second, third, or even fourth time. I think it time to terminate Operation Raccoon City, and trade this game in for something much better. Resident Evil 6 maybe?

Developer: Capcom, Slant Six Games
Platform: Xbox 360
Players: 1-8 (Local & Online Multiplayer)
Price: $29.99

Leave a Reply

