I’ve got plenty of games where I shoot endless human soldiers as well as undead zombies. Sega on the other hand had another idea. Robots. They did it with Vanquish a couple of years ago and it was brilliant. Besides, there’s not enough games these days where your shooting mechanical robots. Oil and shrapnel instead of blood. Tons of bullets and plenty of “bro” moments. Binary Domain has it all and it’s kick ass fun.

The futuristic style of Binary Domain takes me to the year 2080 where a new breed of robots have infiltrated human society. These robots, known as “Hollow Children,” look and act human. Add on to the fact that they have no clue that they’re actually freaking robots. Unfortunately this is considered illegal by the New Geneva Convention and the Japanese company Amada is responsible. The U.S. along with Britain and China send in a team of commandos to counter this new threat called the “Rust Crew.” Their mission is to stop Amada Corporation at all costs. Amada eventually does become aware of the situation and a war with the machines is underway

Now I know that I’m a little late on the release window for a review, but I had so many other games to complete at the time so I waited. Well let me tell you that this game was worth the wait and it’s not because it was on sale. Don’t get me wrong…I like a good sale. Binary Domain had me hooked from the opening moments with the storyline, some rather funny dialog from the characters, tough bosses, upgradeable characters, and all the exciting action packed third person shooter madness.

Binary Domain is more of an under the radar title that many gamers missed out on. Sadly this is what happens to any game that doesn’t have “Call of Duty” in the title. Pathetic! Anyways, let’s move on. If I had to describe Binary Domain in a nutshell then I would say that this game is a combination of the movies I Robot, Blade Runner, and The Terminator, along with Sega and Platinum Games’ sleeper hit Vanquish. Now that’s some good company. The game also plays out as a third person shooter reminiscent of the popular Gears of War series. So far so good.

Considering the fact that I was familiar with Gear of War control scheme I felt right at home with Binary Domain. I was shooting, blind firing,  roadie running, and diving into cover at ease. Switching weapons was easy as choosing a direction on the D-pad. It was comfortable and simple. The game also featured a dialog system allowing me to issue orders to my squad. It wasn’t mandatory, but what I liked about it was the fact that my responses led to the morale of the team. The more helpful I was and my teammates responded. The more negative I was they made me pay for it. I even went as far as telling the beautiful Chinese sniper chick “I love you.” Love on the battlefield. Isn’t it wonderful.

Fun storyline, excellent AI enemies, tough bosses, plenty of “bro” moments, familiar control scheme, and tons of flying shrapnel, Binary Domain has it all. It’s the type of game that will have you amped up with all the action and highly satisfied when you leave all those enemy robots in a huge pile of scrap metal. Add on to the fact that the game is a little cheaper than it’s original retail price made this game a must buy for me. Then again I do like Sega games and shooters in general.

Developer: Sega
Platform: Xbox 360
Players: 1-8 (Online Multiplayer)
Price: $39.99

Comments
  1. […] For my original review on Binary Domain click HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

