GAME STATUS: Completed and won on multiple game modes
ACHIEVEMENTS EARNED: 8 out of 12 (90 Gamerscore)

For my original review of Frogger Hyper Arcade Edition click HERE.

I crossed through rush hour traffic. I braved the raging rivers. I survived diving turtles, crocs, otters, and snakes. I even got foggy style with some female frogs as I took them to my lily pad across the river. Frogger is classic and fun, but will the Hyper Arcade Edition join Pac-Man Championship Edition as an awesome remake? Well here’s my post thoughts.

In the early going, I was impressed with the new version of the classic Frogger. Zombie Studios brought the classic gameplay (which I loved) and upgraded the look even going as far as creating theme options based on Konami classics Castlevania, Contra, and Dance Dance Revolution. These new themes were nice to play for a game or two, but lost their luster after that as I moved back to the original look. The music selection was pretty good with some electronic and dubstep beats giving me an extra hop to my step as I rocked my way to the lily pads.

As for the other gameplay modes. Well just like the classic themes they only hold their value for just a few games and become completely forgettable later. Games modes like Battle Royale, Paint, and Tile Capture get really boring after awhile. I did assign bots for some sort of challen ge, but I got none. It became too easy. What would’ve made this better would be some sort of online multiplayer which would keep anyone playing for an extra week or two. Couch multiplayer and bot play can only do so much.

DO I CONTINUE TO RISK BECOMING POSSIBLE ROADKILL?

Frogger was a lot of fun in my earlier gaming days, but now it doesn’t feel quite the same to me. Don’t get me wrong I’ll still play the classic arcade game (which I still have on my hard drive), but the Pac-Man Championship Edition style makeover was not really needed. It’s just one Frogger version too many yet I have four versions of Pac-Man on my hard drive. Frogger Hyper Arcade Edition was fun while it lasted, but it’s not a game that’s going to stay on my hard drive. Consider this frog retired and the game deleted.

Developer: Konami, Zombie Studios
Platform: Xbox Live Arcade
Players: 1-4 (Local Multiplayer)
Price: 800 Microsoft Points ($10.00)

Leave a Reply

