Turn the clocks back two years ago. I went to Best Buy and purchased War for Cybertron. At first I was still skeptical because of the suckiness of Transformers games through the years, but after just an hour of playing I said “Holy shit this game is awesome!” The epic struggle between the Autobots and Decepticons on Cybertron was fantastic and brought up plenty of memories of the old Generation 1 days where as a young child I was watching the cartoon and playing with the toys. I also wrote an article during my SFX-360 days claiming that War for Cybertron was that year’s Batman: Arkham Asylum. Fast forward to today and I’m once again brought back to that familiar Transformers world that I loved so much.

Fall of Cybertron takes into account Cybertron’s final days. The planet ravaged by war and Dark Energon is no longer able to sustain life. The Autobots have one transport left (The Ark), and are ready to make their way to another world (Earth). The Decepticons however have plans of their own and that is wipe out the Autobots for good. Megatron and his band of enemies have a plan, but Optimus Prime has the mighty Grimlock and Metroplex on his side.

Just like War for Cybertron, High Moon Studios took the “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it” approach with Fall of Cybertron while making some subtle tweaks in the gameplay and graphical details. The end result is a really fun game that rivals their previous Transformers game (not the “Bayformers” movie tie in). The main campaign may be a bit on the short side, but it packs a serious punch along with a few surprises here and there. The Call of Duty inspired multiplayer however still is a disappointment to me except for Escalation mode which still kicks ass.

The first thing that impressed me was the amount of detail to make Cybertron a bit more like an actual world unlike the mechanical look of the first game. This time there are more open areas instead of corridor battles that looked exactly alike. Fire, explosions, smoke, battle damage. This game made me feel like I was in the middle of the war, or the equivalent of a Michael Bay movie battle sequence. Shooting a lot of generic looking robots, transforming, and shooting some more. That pretty much sums up the game. It may sound a bit repetitive, but the developers worked on an impressive way to shake things up to keep the gameplay fresh, entertaining, and even nostalgic.

The biggest change in the main campaign was the fact that you can only play as one character per level. At first I thought that sucked, but then I saw why High Moon went this direction and I was put at ease. Each level is catered for a specific character and their abilities. Playing as Optimus Prime and utilizing the city sized transformer Metroplex, Cliffjumper using a key cloaking ability, the Combaticons forming Bruticus, and even Grimlock stomping on helpless Insecticons in a melee style level was awesome. Now I understand why the co-op feature from the first game was scrapped and I’m alright with it.

The multiplayer portion of Fall of Cybertron is more of a mixed bag for me. There are some highlights which include the return of Escalation mode. The Horde mode style gameplay was both tough and fun. My only gripe is the fact that there’s not enough characters to play as. Hopefully High Moon can give fans like myself more options. As for the other competitive team based modes I was a little bored. Sure it’s Transformers (and you can create your own unique character which is pretty cool), but these same type of game modes are found in so many other titles in the market. Yes, it will be popular for a couple of weeks, but I see the same fate as what War for Cybertron’s multiplayer was…completely forgotten and not many people playing.

Transformers: Fall of Cybertron is a game that fans, like myself, of Generation 1 can enjoy. It brings me back to my childhood days of watching the cartoon and playing with the toys again. The story is well done, the characters look awesome, and the gameplay is relatively unchanged from War for Cybertron. I recommend anyone who is a die hard fan of Transformers, or anyone who likes a fun third person shooter, to play this game.

Developer: Activision, High Moon Studios
Platform: Xbox 360
Players: 1-12 (Online Multiplayer)
Price: $59.99

Comments
  1. […] For my original review on Transformers: Fall of Cybertron Click HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

