GAME STATUS: Made my last stand against the Shadows
ACHIEVEMENTS EARNED: 23 OUT OF 30 (255 Gamerscore)

For my original review on Deadlight click HERE.

The Shadows, The New Law, The Ratman. These are just a few of my encounters that took place in the streets of Seattle in 1986. A city filled with the undead and a select few trying to survive against all odds. The New Law however had other plans and Randall Wayne wanted no part of it. Everyday was a battle for survival and the hope to find his family only to find out that Randall killed his wife and daughter a while back so that they wouldn’t join the ranks of the undead. I think I’ll file this as one of those M. Night Shyamalan plot twists.

Deadlight was a game that reminded me a lot of Limbo. There was plenty of platforming that sometimes drove me batshit crazy when I died…a lot. The jumping mechanics were not completely solid as I would miss the spot to jump to by just a hair and die. That sucked, but then again Deadlight classifies itself as one of those trial and error games so I stuck with it no matter how frustrated I got especially during the Ratman act where your doing tons of jumps, avoiding wall saws, and solving puzzles using a slingshot just so he can tell you to find his son.

As for the weapons, well I have to say that they’re somewhat useful. The fire axe is very trusty when your in a grind, but the guns on the other hand are only as good as when ammo is nearby. Clearing a horde of zombies may not work so well either, because Deadlight is not a game about killing. It’s more about survival or lack thereof at the end when I made my last stand helping my final survivor escape.

WELL I MADE MY FINAL STAND. IS THERE RESURRECTION IN MY IMMEDIATE FUTURE?

Other than the handheld games, serial killer IDs, and diary entries to collect I don’t see another playthrough at all. Deadlight was a fun game while it lasted, but the plot won’t surprise me anymore. The Rat levels drove me crazy enough in that Limbo sort of sense. Plus there were times where I would fall through the ground and run through the air in a game crashing glitch. With all that said I’ll let Randall Wayne’s final stand be known as heroic, and let Deadlight rest in peace deleted from my hard drive.

Developer: Tequila Works
Platform: Xbox Live Arcade
Players: 1
Price: 1200 Microsoft Points ($15.00)

Leave a Reply

