STATUS: Amada Corporation Is Destroyed
ACHIEVEMENTS EARNED: 26 out of 50 (425 Gamerscore)

For my original review on Binary Domain click HERE.

Mesmerizing, amazing, tons of action, suspense, plot twists, hella fun. These are just a few of the words that described my experience with Sega‘s Binary Domain. Obviously the most underrated game of the year. Most people out there have never played yet never even heard of this title. If your one of those few then I suggest you head to your local store and pick up this game, or at least just rent it.

Playing Binary Domain gave me that feeling of Blade Runner, Gears of War, Battlestar Galactica (the re-imagined version) and The Terminator and it was awesome. Hollow Children. Robots disguised as humans with no knowledge whatsoever that they’re robots. Very interesting. I was trying to see what was cooler: The Cylons from the re-imagined Battlestar Galactica or the Hollow Children. Hmm…ok I still have to give it to the Cylons. Now these robots didn’t go down easy. Shoot them in he head and maybe they can still come towards me for a couple of seconds, but shoot them in the legs and they’ll still crawling towards you just like the Terminator did in the original movie. Now that was cool.

At first I said to myself “Binary Domain really feels like a Gears of War clone.” Roadie run to a roll with a shotgun blast to the head. Check. Take cover. Check. Blind fire from cover. Check. Yell out various obscenities while reloading. Ok, that’s not there, but I really felt comfortable with the controls making things rather easy to jump right in and play. That’s something I liked. Other than that I was able to get past the cheesy dialog and various stereotypes to find a game filled with fun and entertainment.

ARE THE HOLLOW CHILDREN’S DAYS STILL NUMBERED?

While I really enjoyed the story and experience with Binary Domain I just don’t see another playthrough. The plot twists won’t feel the same the second time around, because I already know what happens. The multiplayer was pretty uneventful and empty as well. Besides Binary Domain’s gameplay is similar to Gears of War, so if I had to make a decision on what game I’d rather play multiplayer on Gears of War. So I decided to trade in Binary Domain so that someone else can enjoy a great story.

Developer: Sega
Platform: Xbox 360
Players: 1-8 (Online Multiplayer)
Price: $39.99

Leave a Reply

