The election is over…

Ok, so maybe they were still counting votes in my state of Florida this morning, but the decision for President has ended. Mitt Romney has finally conceded, and Barack Obama has earned a second term. Of course not everyone out there is happy with the decision. Many Republicans today are angry. We’ve once again become a nation divided by red and blue states. Now the biggest challenge for President Obama awaits. It’s time for a nation to heal from the wounds of Election Day, and once again become united and not divided.

Throughout the night I was on pins and needles seeing the returns watching Romney take the lead in electoral votes (especially early), but I was still confident considering the fact that I knew the Northeast and the West would go blue.  I was excited when the state of Ohio put the President over the top. I began tweeting and posting on Facebook that my union job was safe. No longer did I have to worry about union busting, right to work laws, and the end of collective bargaining and project labor agreements…for now at least.

As I woke up this morning after all the late night speeches I felt like a winner. A winner not because I chose the right candidate for the job, but for taking part in the voting process. It doesn’t matter who you voted for, because in the end America won. The people who voted early and on Election Day were the real winners. We focused on the issues and made our voices heard loud and clear. I always feel a sense of pride when I vote, because my singular voice carries weight as a citizen of this great nation. For those of you out there who didn’t vote…well shame on you.

Now it’s time to return to reality. It’s a new day, and life continues to go forward no matter who you voted for. It’s time to let go of your anger if your candidate lost. Time to remove all the signs and banners that line our roads. We must now come together as a nation to face the challenges ahead. Together we will achieve. Together we will overcome.

You know what the best part is now after this election? No more campaign ads! I never thought I would say this, but it’s nice to see actual commercials once again. Oh yeah, and there’s the celebration of the legalization of marijuana in Colorado and Washington.

Leave a Reply

