GAME STATUS: Autobots and Decepticons are on their way to Earth
ACHIEVEMENTS EARNED: 20 out of 50 (280 Gamerscore)

For my original review on Transformers: Fall of Cybertron Click HERE.

Cybertron is dead. The core has shut down and the planet ravaged by civil war is no longer able to sustain life. While the war still rages on the Autobots and Decepticons must find a new battleground. That battleground is Earth, but they’re not there yet. The cliffhanger ending only shows the epic final battle with Optimus Prime and Megatron, then both ships enter a wormhole, and finally the credits roll. WTF! I want to know what happens next! I guess myself, along with countless fans, must wait until the next game. Other than the abrupt ending I still enjoyed playing Fall of Cybertron.

Now let me just state that I’m a big fan of Transformers except for the “Bayformers” movies. I grew up with the series as a kid, and had a lot of the toys. Schoolyards and neighborhoods were all about Transformers during the ’80s. It was the cool thing to have. Of course anyone who had Gobots were laughed at and ridiculed for their parents being “cheap.” Fast forward to today and Transformers is still around, however in the video game world developers could never get it right. That is until High Moon Studios came around. You could see from their previous game Transformers: War For Cybertron that they understood the mythology of the series. They got it right and fans like myself were happy to see Transformers done right.

High Moon Studios’ Fall of Cybertron continued to show the love they had for Transformers. They listened to the fans about what they wanted to see. The end result was a brilliant game in terms of story and action. I was hooked right from the beginning as the action heated up into a frantic pace, while playing as Bumblebee, only to get sent back in time to previous events that led to the epic showdown between Optimus Prime and Megatron. At one point it felt like a real bummer, but I knew that this was only the beginning of the game and the best was yet to come.

While playing the game I constantly had thoughts in my head about the great leaps forward High Moon Studios made to make Fall of Cybertron better than War for Cybertron. While they made great leaps forward, they also had to make some sacrifices that hurt the game. None were bigger than the co-op play during the campaign. War for Cybertron was awesome when up to three friends joined in the campaign. Fall of Cybertron took all that away with only one character per level, however each level catered to that specific character and they were given special abilities. That kind of made up for the lack of co-op play. Optimus Prime called on Metroplex for air strikes, Jazz had a grappling hook (the man who voiced Jazz was awesome by the way), but can someone tell me why Cliffjumper was the one who can cloak? I thought that was Mirage. Just giving my two cents on the topic.

Another issue I had was with Grimlock. I was really hyped up when I saw him in the concept art and in the trailers. Then I played the game. Wait a minute! Only one level? That’s it? I was really disappointed, because after that level I wanted more Grimlock. Actually what I wanted was more Dinobots as a whole. It was really cool seeing all the characters working together taking down Shockwave and the Insecticons, but it left me wanting more. Sure there is DLC to use them in competitive multiplayer, but what I really wanted was more of an expansion to their storyline. Maybe even an Escalation level with just the Dinobots? I can dream can’t I?

SO WHAT DOES THE TRANSFORMERS FUTURE LOOK LIKE?

While the campaign was a bit on the short side, and the multiplayer about as dead as Cybertron itself (except for Escalation) I can’t see me letting go of this game. Besides I still have War for Cybertron. Both War for Cyberton and Fall of Cybertron are tributes to what makes Transformers great. Now if they could only make the “Bayformers” that way as well then fans like me wouldn’t bitch so much about it. I definitely see a second, third, and even a fourth play thorough of Fall of Cybertron as I get more achievements, and upgrade all my weapons making them even more badass than before as I patiently await for the next installment of the series.

Developer: Activision, High Moon Studios
Platform: Xbox 360
Players: 1-12 (Online Multiplayer)
Price: $59.99

Leave a Reply

