GAME STATUS: Desmond has died saving the world, and Juno has risen.
ACHIEVEMENTS EARNED: 23 out of 50 (450 Gamerscore)

For my original review of Assassin’s Creed 3 click HERE.

While making my travels through Colonial America I decided to make a quick stop at the local tavern. As I walked inside I realized that I wasn’t alone. No, I’m not talking about the patrons drinking and sharing stories. I’m talking about my horse. Yes, Mr. Ed glitched his way inside the tavern flickering all about, and was blocking my way to the bar so that I can get an ale or two. So I left the tavern in disgust hoping that my horse would leave as well, but low and behold he stuck around flickering everywhere with no intentions of leaving. This eventually led to a the game freezing up on me. This absolutely drove me insane, but this was only a small fraction of the glitches and bugs that Assassin’s Creed 3 brings to the table that also included invisible walls, floating animals, and dead NPCs on the ceiling. Didn’t Ubisoft patch this recently?

I just don’t understand how a title that is this highly anticipated can end up being released to the public in such a mess. I did mention in my review that I felt that there was a “glitch in the Animus.” However, I didn’t think it was going to be this buggy. Now none of these glitches and bugs considered a game breaker, but there were moments where I just wanted to scream out in anger, throw my controller across the room, and stop playing the game. Well, I didn’t. Instead all I did was have a good laugh, skip all the side missions, and quickly trudge my way through the main campaign all the way to the end.

Speaking of the end, let me chime in on the game’s ending. This was one of the shittiest endings to a game that I’ve ever seen in my life. Now let me just state for the record that Desmond is one of the most boring characters in the history of video games, but to this point I’ve been invested in him for five games. The Assassin’s Creed series may focus in on the assassins themselves, but the main story has always been about Desmond. Like I stated in my review “This is Desmond’s story.” However, what really pissed me off what’s how they end his story. Desmond goes from being a bartender, to an assassin, to dead. What the fuck! Desmond saves the world, but dies like a useless bitch. The ending even chimes in on having to make a choice, but the choice is already made for me with Desmond dying. What Ubisoft Montreal should have done was allow me to make my own damn choice instead.

Now I know that part of this final cut has turned into quite a rant, but there was a couple of features I really enjoyed about Assassin’s Creed 3. One would be the backdrop of the American Revolution. Chatting it up with historic American figures including George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Samuel Adams, and Paul Revere was amazing. It almost made me feel like I was a part of history. The other feature is the naval missions which helped break up the monotony of just running around and killing. Captaining the Aquilla was amazing as I would deploy the sails for navigation and speed and man the cannons in battle. In a way I felt like I was channeling my inner pirate as I would give orders to destroy British ships. I was addicted to naval missions. Sometimes I would take a break between trudging my way through the campaign just to head to the Harbormaster so I can get back on my boat. maybe Ubisoft can make a game just using this concept, because it would kick ass.

IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE LEFT FOR ME TO SEE IN THE ANIMUS?

With the Animus glitching the way it is, and Desmond already meeting his rather unfortunate fate, I would say that returning to this Animus is not feasible. Now when Assassin’s Creed 4 arrives my opinion will quickly change, although with Desmond dead I wonder who will be next in line to step up. Maybe it will be Desmond’s bastard father. Perhaps there is another assassin out there. My other question is where will the Animus take me. The French Revolution? The Civil War? I guess I’ll just have to wait and see. Overall, Assassin’s Creed 3 was a pretty decent game, but not worth all the countless hype it received. Remember the trailers where Connor carved his way through waves of British soldiers just to get to his target? Well that wasn’t in the game. I really wanted that. Instead what I got was a game that was a big step below my favorite game in this series, Assassin’s Creed 2. Time for Ubisoft to head back to the drawing board and start planning out the next adventure. This time make sure you have a better ending.

Developer: Ubisoft
Platform: Xbox 360
Players: 1-8 (online multiplayer)
Price: $59.99

Leave a Reply

